Let Them Eat Cake

So back in August, I took a cake decorating class at Hobby Lobby with a friend. You know…one of those “Decorating Basics” courses.  Of course, it made me want to make/decorate cakes! Problem: I’m trying to lose weight and so is my DH. So…now I’m on the hunt for fun excuses to practice my skills. (lol, just pretend with me that I do in fact have said skills) So, without further ado, here is the first cake I’ve made since class.

I made this cake for a coworkers 4th wedding anniversary. It’s is a chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream frosting. I used the chocolate buttercream frosting from the Wilton method book that I have and it was delicious. It’s really too bad that I don’t have any pictures of the kitchen as I was going because it made quite the mess! Disposable decorators bags filled with frosting everywhere!

Tomorrow I’m trying out a new recipe. Dan and I have decided to try to do this on the weekends so that we can try some new things from the plethora of cookbooks that we own. We’ll rotate weekends and I get to go first! I’m planning on making a vegetable casserole with herb dumplings. Dan is not all that excited, but I think it will be delicious. We’ll see, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

