Things to be Thankful For…

So I’m currently at the point in the semester (it seems to come about this time every semester) where I ask myself WHY I’m doing what I’m doing, and wondering whether it’s even remotely worth it.  Every minute of every day seems to be filled with stress and despair, but it’s funny how God can proverbially smack you up the side of the head sometimes and let you know that your priorities are perhaps not 100% in order and that perhaps your anxieties are possibly a bit petty.  For example, I’ve spent the last two days panicking about how my semester papers are going to turn out and if my beer shipment sent via FedEx to a fellow BeerAdvocate.com member is going to be seized (as apparently it’s against FedEx policy to ship liquor and the cashier seemed suspicious of my package).  Anyway, on the way into school today, the wife and I saw an Amish buggy get annihilated by an overly-hurried driver.  As in, the girl is ridiculously lucky to be alive and relatively uninjured.  Car accidents freak me out in general, but seeing this take place in real time and the destruction it caused was especially scary.  For some odd reason, I haven’t been able to shake the memory all day, and the more I think of it, the more I’m thankful to God for (1) sparing that girl’s life (she couldn’t have been more than 15-16, and with the holidays right around the corner, I can’t imagine the kind of heartache that would bring to her family) and (2) for reminding me that, no matter how bad I think things are, He’s blessed me with a wonderful wife, a beautiful home, and great family and friends, even if they are seemingly so far-removed from us.  Life’s precious, and we should treat it as such.

Leave a Reply

