The New Job

So, I figure since it’s my fourth day at my new job, I should go ahead and write a brief blog about it. Something to look back on in a year, I suppose–to see how I was doing today and how much I grow. (Or at least HOPEFULLY how much I grow/learn)

First, it is such a different work environment from the previous job. The atmosphere is friendly but much more…professional? I don’t know if that is really the word I’m looking for. At all. Anyway, it’s quiet. I think that’s the biggest difference. To go from an office where people are always moving around and visiting with each other and everyone has a radio playing (well, it was a radio station so I suppose that’s a given) to an office where I think I’m the only one with music playing at my desk (couldn’t handle the quiet) and everyone is kind of secluded in their own offices, well, it’s a big change!

The people here are very nice. Don’t get me wrong, I miss my old coworkers, but I really to have welcoming new coworkers. It always takes me a little time to really warm up to people and get comfortable with them, but I know in time I’ll feel perfectly comfortable here. And…eventually they’ll learn just how quirky I tend to be, lol.

Also, this is a DESK JOB. Plain and simple. I mean, I thought I had a desk job before…but I was wrong. HAHAHA. I’m considering getting one of those ball chairs so I can work on my posture and keep my back “healthy.” It’s, of course, not really in our budget right now, but I think I’ll try to start saving some of my weekly personal budget for one. Guess that means I’ll have to stop spending money on coffee. Good thing I got coffee gift certificates for Christmas!!! Also, working in the library means working in a building with a coffee shop. (*hehehehe*) I already purchased myself a new Bookmark Cafe travel mug. 🙂 They sell Kaldi’s coffee, so it’s pretty good stuff. I need to figure out if they would accept a Kaldi’s gift certificate…then I’d have it made!!

I’m still in the process of learning a lot about what my job really entails and how to do everything. It seems like such a slow process! The only advantage is that I already know how to do the basics using MU’s system. If I didn’t know that, I’d be lost!

So, anyway, I need to get back to my spreadsheets and other work, so I’ll leave you with a picture of the building that I work in now. No more Jesse Hall with its dome!

One response to “The New Job

  • LYNN MENOLD

    Either hubby is confused or I really do have a hearing/ dementia problem. He told me you worked in the same building, jesse hall. Hmmm I think I’ll tell them to speed up the process of my admission to Restmor! Anyway, we all know how uncomfortable new jobs are at first, they are real humbling times til we learn we’re not as dumb as we feel in the beginning. We pray you will ease right into your place there and quickly show them what a great person you are, as we could tell them if they only asked US!

Leave a Reply

